About IPPF


The East and South East and Oceania Regional Office (ESEAOR) is comprised of 22 Member Associations (MAs) and 3 collaborative partners.

The Regional Secretariat for the 22 MAs is made up of two offices: the Regional Office based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, and the Sub-Regional Office for the Pacific (SROP) in Suva, Fiji. The Regional Office with its Sub-Regional Office for the Pacific (SROP) in Suva, Fiji, serves as Regional Secretariat for its 25 Member Associations (MAs).

It is responsible for supporting MAs in the areas of strategic planning, programme development and operations, monitoring and evaluation, resource mobilisation, financial accountability, volunteer development, capacity building, knowledge management, quality of care and management information systems.

IPPF ESEAOR also facilitates partnerships between its MAs and government agencies, non-governmental organisations, civil society, and UN agencies in the field of sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR) and HIV within and across the region.


The South East Asia and Oceania Region (SEAOR) and Western Pacific Region (WPR) were established in 1952. To cope with the rapidly expanding family planning programmes, the Regional Office for SEAOR was transferred to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1970. With this move, the Regional Office evolved into a service centre that provides Member Associations with technical guidance and back-up services to implement their programmes.

The East & South East Asia and Oceania Region (ESEAOR) became a ‘Double Region’ when SEAOR and the Western Pacific Region (WPR) merged into one region in 1974. Since then, IPPF ESEAOR has seen a steady increase in membership. As of 2016, IPPF ESEAOR works in 25 countries with 22 full MAs (Australia, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Vietnam) and 3 collaborative partners (Lao PDR, Myanmar and Papua New Guinea).